Other (indicate in message) Submitted: May 21, 2021 | Updated: June 3, 2021

[See Editor’s Note](May 2021) Request for Scotland County, NC Sheriff’s  Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 05/01/2021

[REDACTED]

Editor’s Note: Sunshine Request makes no claim as to the veracity of any statements or information contained in any of the requests, or public records, we receive.

Editor’s Note 05/21/21: The submission above has been revised for clarity.

Sunshine Request will not fulfill the following types of requests:

☀️ Requests for public safety information specific to a single individual, address, incident or name.

This includes police reports, calls for service, complaints / incident reports / citations, criminal / arrest type records, or camera footage. We will, on a case by case basis, fulfill public safety related requests that focus on system-level trends and data. Due to the personal nature of this type of information, we recommend that the sender reach out directly to the appropriate entity for assistance with the request.


The request we send to Scotland County, NC Gov will read as follows:

Subject:

(May 2021) Request for Scotland County, NC Sheriff’s  Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 05/01/2021

Message:

Hello Scotland County, NC Government (Records Officer),

I’d like to make a public records request for the following information under NC Public Records Law regarding the Scotland County Sheriff’s Department. If you are not the custodian of the records requested, please let me know the correct contact info for where I should resend:

If the records exist – Please provide all write ups, disciplinary action(s), and complaint(s), taken against Detective Jessica Sadovnikov by any County Employee(s), as well as any member(s) of the public, from January 01, 2010 through May 01, 2021.

** If any responsive records like that do exist – Please do not include personally identifiable information about any individuals (other than Ms. Sadovnikov) making complaints or involved in incidents. Sunshine Request will not publish that type of safety information [Ex. Names, Dates, Addresses, Case numbers, etc. for individuals identified in incident reports or other personal actions] on their website.

Thank you for your assistance!


Before submitting a request, please take a moment to review our tips for How to write and make a successful request. If you have additional questions about our site or how to make requests, please check out our FAQs or Policies page.

Thank you for using www.sunshinerequest.com!

Status: Completed

Activity:

  • June 3, 2021 4:14 pm

    5 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Ashley McDonald <[email protected]>
    date: Jun 3, 2021, 4:14 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request: (May 2021) Scotland County Sheriff Department

     

    Good afternoon Ashley,

     

    Thank you for your response and for providing this information. I will mark this request as completed on our site.

     

    Appreciate your assistance!


    Status: Completed
  • May 27, 2021 1:54 pm

    6 months ago

    from: Ashley McDonald <[email protected]>
    to:[email protected]” <[email protected]>
    date: May 27, 2021, 1:54 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request: (May 2021) Scotland County Sheriff Department

     

    We are in receipt of your email of May 24, 2021 regarding “any write ups, discipline and complaints taken against Detective Jessica Sadovnikov by any County Employee, as well as any member of the public, from January 1, 2010 through May 1, 2021.” Section 153A-98 of the General Statutes of North Carolina establishes rules of access to personnel files of county employees. The file of Ms. Sadovnikov is subject to access limitations by virtue of the statute. The statute cited lists items within personnel files to which access is allowed. The information you requested does not fall within such list.

     

    There may be additional state or federal laws protecting information of a particular nature in personnel files as well as protections arising by virtue of Ms. Sadovnikov’s status while a law enforcement officer. Scotland County is required to comply with such laws as well.

     

    Thanks,
    Ashley

    Legal Secretary for
    Edward H. Johnston Jr., PA


    Status: Response Received from Government
  • May 26, 2021 8:28 am

    6 months ago

    from: Jason Robinson <[email protected]>
    to: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    date: May 26, 2021, 8:28 AM
    subject: Re: Records Request: (May 2021) Request for Scotland County, NC Sheriff’s Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 05/01/2021

     

    Good Morning,

     

    I have passed this request along to the sheriff who would be the one who would have any records, if they exist. Either he or I will get back to you. Have a good day.

     


    J. Jason Robinson, NCMCC
    Scotland County Clerk to the Board/Public Information Officer/Assistant to the County Manager
    517 Peden Street
    Laurinburg, NC 28352
    Phone: 910-277-3191
    Fax: 910-277-2411


    Status: Government Processing Request
  • May 24, 2021 4:53 pm

    6 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: [email protected],
    Jason Robinson <[email protected]>
    date: May 24, 2021, 4:53 PM
    subject: Records Request: (May 2021) Request for Scotland County, NC Sheriff’s Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 05/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Scotland County, NC Government (Records Officer),

     

    I’d like to make a public records request for information that may be available in your office.

     

    Please confirm receipt to let me know the request will begin processing, and if possible, please provide a rough estimate of when the request may be completed. I will plan on following up again in early June if I have not heard back before then.

     

    Here are the details of the request:

     

    Subject: (May 2021) Request for Scotland County, NC Sheriff’s Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 05/01/2021

     

    Message: “Hello Scotland County, NC Government (Records Officer),

     

    I’d like to make a public records request for the following information under NC Public Records Law regarding the Scotland County Sheriff’s Department. If you are not the custodian of the records requested, please let me know the correct contact info for where I should resend:

     

    If the records exist – Please provide all write ups, disciplinary action(s), and complaint(s), taken against Detective Jessica Sadovnikov by any County Employee(s), as well as any member(s) of the public, from January 01, 2010 through May 01, 2021.

     

    ** If any responsive records like that do exist – Please do not include personally identifiable information about any individuals (other than Ms. Sadovnikov) making complaints or involved in incidents. Sunshine Request will not publish that type of safety information [Ex. Names, Dates, Addresses, Case numbers, etc. for individuals identified in incident reports or other personal actions] on their website.

     

    Thank you for your assistance!”

     

    ** Sunshine Request makes no claim as to the veracity of any statements or information contained in any of the requests or public records received.


    Status: Sent to Government
  • May 21, 2021 3:24 pm

    6 months ago

    Submitted to Sunshine Request
    Status: Pending