Other (indicate in message) Submitted: April 14, 2021 | Updated: October 15, 2021

[See Editor’s Note](April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

Requesting all or any information on employee of the City of Salisbury, NC Justin Crews regarding all write ups from 01/01/2010-04/01/2021. Any rewrites up or Discipline [REDACTED].

Also requesting any complaints made [REDACTED].

Editor’s Note: Sunshine Request makes no claim as to the veracity of any statements or information contained in any of the requests, or public records, we receive.

Editor’s Note 04/14/21: The submission above has been revised. As originally written, this was not an actionable request for public records we will fulfill.

Sunshine Request will not fulfill the following types of requests:

☀️ Requests that include profanity, personal statements, opinions, possibly defamatory statements, or other unnecessary info that is not relevant to making a records request.
☀️ Requests for public safety information specific to a single individual, address, incident or name.

This includes police reports, calls for service, complaints / incident reports / citations, criminal / arrest type records, or camera footage. We will, on a case by case basis, fulfill public safety related requests that focus on system-level trends and data. Due to the personal nature of this type of information, we recommend that the sender reach out directly to the appropriate entity for assistance with the request.


The request we send to Salisbury, NC Gov will read as follows:

Subject:

(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

Message:

Hi City of Salisbury, NC Government (Records Officer)(and Police Department),

I’d like to make a public records request for the following information regarding the City of Salisbury, NC Police Department:

If the records exist – Please provide all write ups, disciplinary action(s), and complaint(s), taken against Justin Crews by any City Employee(s), as well as any member(s) of the public from January 01, 2010 through April 01, 2021.

** If any responsive records like that do exist – Please do not include personally identifiable information about any individuals (other than Mr. Crews) making complaints or involved in incidents. Sunshine Request will not publish that type of safety information [Ex. Names, dates, addresses, case numbers, etc. for individuals identified in incident reports or other personal actions] on their website.

Thank you for your assistance!


Before submitting a request, please take a moment to review our tips for How to write and make a successful request. If you have additional questions about our site or how to make requests, please check out our FAQs or Policies page.

Thank you for using www.sunshinerequest.com!

Status: Completed

Activity:

  • October 15, 2021 4:10 pm

    1 month ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    date: Oct 15, 2021, 4:10 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Kelly,

     

    Thank you for your response. I will mark this request as completed on our site.

     

    Have a good day!

     


    Status: Completed
  • October 7, 2021 4:43 pm

    1 month ago

    from: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    to: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    date: Oct 7, 2021, 4:43 PM
    subject: RE: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon,

     

    If any write ups, disciplinary action(s), and complaint(s), exist they would be part of an employees’ personnel file and are not a public record.

     

    Thank you,

    Kelly Baker

     


    Status: Response Received from Government
  • October 7, 2021 4:24 pm

    1 month ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    date: Oct 7, 2021, 4:24 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Kelly,

     

    I haven’t received an update on this request since June 10th: (April 2021Request for City of SalisburyNC Police DepartmentAny write upsdiscipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    This is the third follow up I’ve sent and just wanted to check in and see if there was any update to report? I will plan on following up one more time at the end of this month and if I don’t hear back at that point I will mark this request as denied.

     

    Thank you!


    Status: Follow up
  • September 10, 2021 1:44 pm

    2 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    date: Sep 10, 2021, 1:44 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Kelly,

     

    Checking in again on this request to see if there’s any update to report? I’ll plan on following up again at the end of the month if I don’t hear back before then.

     

    Thank you!


    Status: Follow up
  • August 20, 2021 4:02 pm

    3 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    date: Aug 20, 2021, 4:02 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Kelly,

     

    Checking in on this request to see if there was any update to report? I’ll plan on following up again in early September if I don’t hear back before then.

     

    Thank you!


    Status: Follow up
  • July 27, 2021 1:45 pm

    4 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    date: Jul 27, 2021, 1:45 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon Kelly,

     

    Thank you for confirming receipt of this request. I will plan on following up again in early August if I don’t hear back from you before then.

     

    Appreciate your assistance!


    Status: Government Processing Request
  • June 10, 2021 3:56 pm

    5 months ago

    from: Kelly Baker <[email protected]>
    to: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    date: Jun 10, 2021, 3:56 PM
    subject: RE: Records Request: (April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    I have received your request.

     

    Thank you,

    Kelly

    Kelly K. Baker

    Administrative Services Director

    Administration


    Status: Government Processing Request
  • June 10, 2021 3:52 pm

    5 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: [email protected]
    date: Jun 10, 2021, 3:52 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon City of Salisbury, NC Government (or Police Department),

     

    I’m following up again on this request that was sent in on 4/23: (April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Please confirm that the request has been received on your end, and if / when it will begin being processed. Please provide a timeline or rough estimate as to when the request will be completed, and I will follow up around the time you specify.

     

    In any case, I’ll plan to follow up again at the end of the month if I have not heard back before then.

     

    Thank you for your assistance!


    Status: Follow up
  • May 13, 2021 2:24 pm

    6 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: [email protected]
    date: May 13, 2021, 2:24 PM
    subject: Re: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon City of Salisbury, NC Government (or Police Department),

     

    I’m following up on this request that was sent in on 4/23: (April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Please confirm that the request has been received on your end, and if / when it will begin being processed. Please provide a timeline or rough estimate as to when the request will be completed, and I will follow up around the time you specify.

     

    In any case, I’ll plan to follow up again at the end of the month if I have not heard back before then.

     

    Thank you for your assistance!


    Status: Follow up
  • April 23, 2021 3:45 pm

    7 months ago

    from: Sunshine Request <[email protected]>
    to: [email protected]
    date: Apr 23, 2021, 3:45 PM
    subject: Records Request:(April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Good afternoon City of Salisbury, NC Government (or Police Department),

     

    I’d like to make a public records request for information that may be available in your office.

     

    Please confirm receipt to let me know the request will begin processing, and if possible, please provide a rough estimate of when the request may be completed. I will plan on following up again around early-May if I have not heard back before then.

     

    Here are the details of the request:

     

    Subject: (April 2021) Request for City of Salisbury, NC Police Department: Any write ups, discipline, and complaints 01/01/2010 – 04/01/2021

     

    Message: “Hi City of Salisbury, NC Government (Records Officer)(and Police Department),

     

    I’d like to make a public records request for the following information regarding the City of Salisbury, NC Police Department:

     

    If the records exist – Please provide all write ups, disciplinary action(s), and complaint(s), taken against Justin Crews by any City Employee(s), as well as any member(s) of the public from January 01, 2010 through April 01, 2021.

     

    ** If any responsive records like that do exist – Please do not include personally identifiable information about any individuals (other than Mr. Crews) making complaints or involved in incidents. Sunshine Request will not publish that type of safety information [Ex. Names, dates, addresses, case numbers, etc. for individuals identified in incident reports or other personal actions] on their website.

     

    Thank you for your assistance!”

     

    Appreciate your help – have a good weekend!

     

    **Sunshine Request makes no claim as to the veracity of any statements or information contained in any of the requests, or public records, we receive.


    Status: Sent to Government
  • April 14, 2021 2:38 pm

    7 months ago

    Submitted to Sunshine Request
    Status: Pending